10 Spiritual Insights About Sacred Mount Kailash

In the remote corner of the exotic west of Tibet, the pristine Mount Kailash (6714 meters) dominates the entire region’s landscape.

The celestial beauty of Mt. Kailash is not only fascinating, but it is also the ultimate pilgrimage destination for Hindu, Buddhist, Jain and Bon religions from around the world. For all four religions, Mount Kailash is the spiritual epicenter.

Every year, thousands of devotees make the pilgrimage to the holy Mt. Kailash for spiritual purification.

Here are the 10 important spiritual insights about Mt. Kailash.

1. The Kailash parikrama or the sacred circumambulation

Photography by Jennifer Sodini

Hindus pay reverence to Mount Kailash as a throne of Lord Shiva, the great Tirtha and the ultimate pilgrimage site on earth. It is considered most auspicious to make a religious pilgrimage around its fifty-three kilometers circuit which is also known as Kailash Parikrama.

2.  A place for finding the ultimate nirvana

Jains refer to Mount Kailash as Mt. Asthapada and believe that their religious founder, Rishavdev, attained Nirvana – The Ultimate Happiness there.

3. The Buddhist connection

Mount Kailash – holy mountain in the Himalaya, Central Tibet

Buddhists have named Mount Kailash Garu Rimpoche, meaning “precious jewel of snow” and a gigantic mandala. According to the legend, it is the abode of Chakra Samvara and Guru Rinpoche – Padma Sambhava, who brought Buddhism to Tibet and beyond.

4. Dwelling of the wise one

In Tibetan Buddhism, it is believed that Mt Kailash is the dwelling place of Chakra Samvara Demchog (the Wheel of Bliss) and his consort, Dorje Phagmo. It is also venerated as the abode of one of the great Tibetan yogi – Milarepa.

5. Kora: circumambulation for the pursuit of spirituality

Photography by Jennifer Sodini

Buddhist pilgrims perambulate clockwise around the mountain and it is called Kailash Kora. Kailash Kora has the greatest spiritual significance for the Buddhists.

6. The amazing beliefs

In Tibet’s pre-Buddhist, Shamanic Bon religion, Mt Kailash is abode of Sky Goddess Sipaimen, and is in the form of a giant Mandala that is the central point of all Tantra Rituals and Forces. The founder of Bon Religion, Tonpa Shenrab Miwoche is believed to live on Mt Kailash, which is considered as nine-story Swastika Mountain, and the axis mundi – the central pillar of the world. The Bonpo Pilgrims walk counter-clockwise around the Mt Kailash.

7. The sacred lakes that adds to the charm

In fact, the entire region of Mt. Kailash has religious significance. The region also includes the two turquoise-blue, pristine high-altitude lakes of Mansarovar and Rakshesa.

8. Source of the four major rivers

Another uniqueness contributing to the mystical and spiritual aspects of Kailash is that the four most sacred rivers of the Indian sub-continent begin from here – Sutlej, Karnili, Brahmaputra, and Indus. The end of these rivers is more than 2,000 kilometers apart, yet they all have their source within hundred kilometers of Mt. Kailash.

9. Naturally rewarding journey of a lifetime

Photography by Jennifer Sodini

Mt. Kailash, the holy region, is known as the navel of the universe, attracting scholars and researchers from all over the world. Mt. Kailash (also known as the ‘Sumeru Parbat’ in Hindu epics) provides a spiritually enriching, naturally unique and a truly rewarding journey of a life-time.

10. Of legends, myths, and ancient traditions

Every object in this area is sacred and related to many of the legends and mythical stories from ancient scriptures and oral traditions.

Mount Kailash so magical, so majestic, so serene, and so tranquil makes her existence timelessly sprinkling the aura of spirituality throughout the Himalayan region.

This article was originally published on EvolveandAscend.com