What are the 42 Ideals of Ma'at?

In The Egyptian Book of the Dead, the weighing of the heart is the soul’s final judgment. If the deceased could justifiably answer forty-two specific questions known as the 42 Negative Confessions of Ma’at about how their life had been lived, they could have the choice to pass through to paradise, reincarnate, or if they perfectly answered, become a star—the ultimate destination as the eternal light that fuels the growth of the living universe.

If the questions were not answered well and the heart was weighed down from a life filled with regret, negative choices, and actions, then the soul would be damned to be eaten by a chimera-type of demon named Ammit, who devours all the heavyhearted.

The feather by which your heart is measured is the feather of Ma’at, the goddess who is the embodiment of truth, justice, harmony, morality, and the balance of chaos and order.

The 42 Negative Confessions of Ma'at

  1. I have not committed sin. 
  2. I have not committed robbery with violence.
  3. I have not stolen.
  4. I have not slain men or women.
  5. I have not stolen food.
  6. I have not swindled offerings.
  7. I have not stolen from God/Goddess.
  8. I have not told lies.
  9. I have not carried away food.
  10. I have not cursed.
  11. I have not closed my ears to truth.
  12. I have not committed adultery.
  13. I have not made anyone cry.
  14. I have not felt sorrow without reason.
  15. I have not assaulted anyone.
  16. I am not deceitful.
  17. I have not stolen anyone’s land.
  18. I have not been an eavesdropper.
  19. I have not falsely accused anyone.
  20. I have not been angry without reason.
  21. I have not seduced anyone’s wife.
  22. I have not polluted myself.
  23. I have not terrorized anyone.
  24. I have not disobeyed the Law.
  25. I have not been exclusively angry.
  26. I have not cursed God/Goddess.
  27. I have not behaved with violence.
  28. I have not caused disruption of peace.
  29. I have not acted hastily or without thought.
  30. I have not overstepped my boundaries of concern.
  31. I have not exaggerated my words when speaking.
  32. I have not worked evil.
  33. I have not used evil thoughts, words or deeds.
  34. I have not polluted the water.
  35. I have not spoken angrily or arrogantly.
  36. I have not cursed anyone in thought, word or deeds.
  37. I have not placed myself on a pedestal.
  38. I have not stolen what belongs to God/Goddess.
  39. I have not stolen from or disrespected the deceased.
  40. I have not taken food from a child.
  41. I have not acted with insolence.
  42. I have not destroyed property belonging to God/Goddess

In 1995, Arch Priestess of the Temple of Isis, Lady Loreon Vigne (1932-2014) traveled to Egypt with 8 other priestesses and created a series of varying translations of the 42 Ideals of Ma'at, as modern-day positive affirmations, as opposed to the negative confessions, in order to inspire embodying these ideas in modern times. 

The 42 Ideals of Ma'at, are the timeless universal ideals explored within Amenti Oracle, paying homage to the perennial wisdom imbued in Ma'at's teachings.

The 42 Positive Ideals Of Ma'at:

  1. I Honor Virtue

  2. I Benefit With Gratitude

  3. I Am Peaceful

  4. I Respect the Property of Others

  5. I Affirm That All Life Is Sacred

  6. I Give Offerings That Are Genuine

  7. I Live In Truth

  8. I Regard All Altars With Respect

  9. I Speak With Sincerity

  10. I Consume Only My Fair Share

  11. I Offer Words Of Good Intent

  12. I Relate In Peace

  13. I Honor Animals With Reverence

  14. I Can Be Trusted

  15. I Care For The Earth

  16. I Keep My Own Council

  17. I Speak Positively Of Others

  18. I Remain In Balance With My Emotions

  19. I Am Trustful In My Relations

  20. I Hold Purity In High Esteem

  21. I Spread Joy

  22. I Do The Best I Can

  23. I Communicate With Compassion

  24. I Listen To Opposing Opinions

  25. I Create Harmony

  26. I Invoke Laughter

  27. I Am Open To Love In Various Forms

  28. I Am Forgiving

  29. I Am Kind

  30. I Act Respectfully Of Others

  31. I Am Accepting

  32. I Follow My Inner Guidance

  33. I Converse With Awareness

  34. I Do Good

  35. I Give Blessings

  36. I Keep The Waters Pure

  37. I Speak With Good Intent

  38. I Praise The Goddess And The God

  39. I Am Humble

  40. I Achieve With Integrity

  41. I Advance Through My Own Abilities

  42. I Embrace The All